Gender inequality

Edmonton received the worst ranking of cities in Canada in regards to gender inequality. The report is here.

I thought it was interesting. My field is heavily male dominated. One woman is a member of my current work unit. However when I attended a gathering of all leadership for my branch the ratio of men and women were exactly equivalent.

Obviously my experience is slept anecdotal. But it seemed that although there might be barriers to entering my industry there weren’t many in getting promoted. I thought that interesting.

7 thoughts on “Gender inequality

  1. Stef says:

    I read parts of the report (Intro, Methodology, and the entries for Edmonton and Calgary) and the metrics are lousy. Calgary for example: They measure rates of employment, not unemployment, thereby ignoring whether a woman’s non-employed status is voluntary or not, and further assuming that voluntary non-employment is a function of inequality. Balderdash. I like work, but I prefer being home with my kids. When my wife stayed home with them it was her choice; she had dibs, basically. The reporting of average income is also flawed because it includes part-time incomes, which may or may not be voluntarily less than 1.0 FTE. More women in Edmonton finish school or get university degrees, but we’re not told how much, whereas the ratio of 3:1 for trades is cited. Oh, I could go one.

    I’m not one to argue that gender inequality doesn’t exist, but this is a silly, biased study that, owing to its approach, doesn’t really do its “cause” a service.

    • Stef says:

      I could go on, should say. Yeesh.

    • Yes. I thought the report was flawed as well, but I think it still might point to real issues. I certainly see some misogyny at work.

      To look at your two examples:

      If a parent chose to stay home full time or part time to raise and nurture a family and there was true equality shouldn’t the ratio of men to women be closer to equal?

      All the entries I read indicated that high school and college education levels were slightly higher for women. But that wasn’t qualified. They also listed trades being weighted towards men. Edmonton was unique in having such a lopsided ratio.

      One thing I didn’t see was how the raw data was collected or the ratios in the tables calculated. But I didn’t read to the end of the report.

  2. Suellen says:

    Government takes gender equity very seriously I’ve noticed as well a in my experience. However, once got out into the private sector, it was remarkably different. There is a noticeable difference in base pay between men and women where I work. There is also only one woman at the senior level where I work. In fact, I’m one of only of maybe six women at the supervisor level or above there. Yes, women take time to raise their children and that accounts for some of it. Yes, women are horrible negotiators when it comes to salary which also matters. All that being said, shouldn’t the wage disparity be less noticeable? Especially when women tend to be more educated?

    As to the question of voluntary non-employment and so on, Edmonton is a more conservative (small C) city than other jurisdictions. There is nothing wrong with so long as this is what works for you. One of the consequences of being conservative is more traditional gender roles. I admire people who stay at home – in fact, if more families could/would do it, I think society would be better off IMO. However, and this is anecdotal, there is an implication that men are less ‘manly’ for staying at home to be the primary care giver and women are less ‘maternal’ if they go to work and leave the children in someone else’s care even if it is the father. Is this right or fair? Nope and nope.

    My two cents.

    • Are attitudes towards being a male caregiver different in Alberta versus the rest of the country? The report certainly didn’t have enough info to be sure. But it is an inference that might be drawn.

      Really the report seemed lacking in any investigation into causes of the inequalities identified. That is a problem I have with it. It leaves us to draw our own correlations.

      You work in a company with offices across Canada and some outside the country. Is the culture different in those locales?

  3. Suellen says:

    Yeah, actually it is. Personally, I think working in oil and gas has something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

