Weekly Recap

Hmm. Big week last week? Not so much. Or was it?

On Friday I was starting to worry. My to read pile of comics contained 14 issues, 1 trade and 2 graphic novels. The comics went back three weeks. Soon if I didn’t catch up I’d be getting the next issue.

But good news – I caught up. Good books too.

My new catchphrase is “Sometimes you’ve got to take off your shoes and Bilbo it up.” It is a quote from Patrick Rothfuss about being brave and doing good in a tough world. Yesterday at church the gospel was about the calling of the fishermen to be disciples. As I listened to the sermon I kept thinking my version would include Bilbo it up in it somewhere.

Had my eyes checked last week. Healthy and just a tad different than 7 years ago. I received the speech about coming in more frequently than once every 7 years too. Next week I should have no glasses.

Had my wheelchair adjusted. Next step is a seating clinic. Nothing big is needed just tweaks. But every thing takes time. I still love it. Carrying capacity and poor snow traction are the only downsides. I’m still playing with the controls all the time like a new toy.

Bought the slippers and mat I needed at the mall. Juggled my bags for four hours after. Accidentally left my mat in the movie theatre, but I remembered quickly and it was still there. Running a wheelchair against the flow of pedestrians leaving a theatre is tricky. No one was hurt.

I saw Dallas Buyers Club. It was very good. I’m not a big Matthew McConnaughy fan so I was skeptical. He was really good though. This is a good movie.

(I saw Blue Jasmine too this weekend. I’m working my way through the Oscar nominees. Wasn’t so impressed. )

Sherlock debuted on iTunes. I’m a month behind everyone else. No spoilers. I’ve seen the first episode. Next will be the wedding.

Alright. The pinnacle of the week though was none of the stuff. On Rabbie Burns day I went to a scotch tasting. It was nummy. They had samosas and sushi to pair the scotch with. Oddly my favourite scotches of the night were lighter ones in the first flight. Normally I trend towards the peatier ones later in the evening.

Glendronach 17 year in a sherry cask was my pick of the night. Very nice. Seven scotches total. Except one I liked them all. Went home with a Balvenie and my Glendronach is on order.

I also got to hang with Craig. I haven’t seen him for a good long while. That was great too.

My bus arrived a minute ago. I realized that my toque and gloves are still in my scooter basket. Darn lack of carrying capacity.

It was really a good week. Busy by my standards.

But it wasn’t all good. I got a call yesterday afternoon. My friend’s grandmother passed away. She was a huge part of that family and her influence is apparent in all her heirs. I had the most contact with her in my university years. She will be missed.

If you can spare a moments prayer for the repose of her soul and the sorrow of the family that would be cool.

That is it. Take care. Take off your shoes and Bilbo it up!

Leave a Reply

