Oscars

If you take the big awards: best picture, directing, acting and writing you get 13 films. I’ve seen 4. I do plan on seeing the rest when I get a chance.

“12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street” *
“Captain Phillips” *
“Her”
“American Hustle” *
“Gravity” *
“Dallas Buyers Club”
“Nebraska”
“Philomena”

“Blue Jasmine”
“August: Osage County”
“Before Midnight”

My favourite is easily Gravity. It was incredible. I highly recommend it.

I disliked Wolf of Wall Street and I’m divided on American Hustle. Hustle had some great performances – Jennifer Lawrence and Louis C.K were excellent. But both movies suffer from being true’ish pictures/comedies about really horrible people. They left a bad taste in my mouth. (The worst movie of the type this year was Pain and Gain – a true life comedy about torture and murder.)

Captain Phillips was good. Worth seeing and atom Hanks is excellent, but I just didn’t think it was great.

Other movies I thought were great, but the Academy didn’t include:

Inside Llewyn Davis
Star Trek: Into Darkness
Epic
Don Jon

Epic isn’t even listed in the Animated category. I liked it better than Despicable Me2.

But my top film would still be Gravity. I’ll see what happens once I see more of the 9 top picks I haven’t seen yet.

Leave a Reply

