Yearly Recap

Hey.  A whole year has passed.  Time is a tricky thing. 

There are nearly 52 weekly recaps up here so there is not much for me to do in a yearly recap.  But I will nonetheless.  

I’ve been watching the eldest kids of my closest friends.  This is the year that they are turning 12 and 13.  It is fairly spectacular.  Over the course of the next year they are going to stop thinking of themselves as kids and want to be smaller adults instead.  “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me.”  so much change.

I on the other hand turned 40.  Certainly far, far from childhood.  So another quote.  “When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.” – C.S. Lewis.  All in all I don’t see a big difference from being 39.  

As usual the big activity for me this year was work.  I started at the government in 2011 with the express purpose of seeing a major project go live.  At the start of 2013 we did go live.  Two years of work had finally paid off.  Then by March of 2013 the project was cancelled.  That was a heck of a roller coaster.  But new projects… it took about 6 weeks for new projects to emerge.  Some of those are also already complete.  I also had some big anniversaries at work.  It is my 16th year working for government.  That means that in 2014 I get more holidays and that in November they finally gave me my 15 year anniversary pin. 

Everything at work is still a bit hush hush due to security.  Always weird that I’m unable to talk about the stuff that I spend the most time doing.  But most of y’all wouldn’t care anyway.  

My immediate family are doing well.  My parents siblings are slowly growing aged.  Unfortunately that means, among other things, weakness, illness and the passing of some beloved family members.  Hopefully the next year will see a remission… 

My own disability has been a challenge this year too.  I thought it would be a big year of change, but so far the change has been slight.  Mostly that is because I’ve been waiting for 6 months for my wheelchair to arrive.  Without it I’m still toddling around.  It is in town, but stuck awaiting programming and assembly at the vendors until the New Year.  But standing and walking at all is a trial now.  So next year I think there will be other changes as week as it becomes difficult to do transfers entirely.  To that end I’ve starting to look at moving sometime early in the new year.  It is hard to plan because without the wheelchair I do not really know what I need… but the darn thing has taken so long to get here that I need to start looking at the next step even in its absence.  

All in al 2013 has been a year of fairly dramatic change or, it areas, the preparation and anticipation of change.  I hate change.  So it hasn’t been the most comfortable year overall.  

Often this blog seems to be a catalogue of woes or a recitation of the trivial.  Not being able to talk about work is part of that since that is where I’ve had the most success.  But day to day life has been pretty good.  Those things that give me joy are still all around.  Friends and family for the greatest part.  

But other things:

Gaming – we resolve a huge campaign and started a new one.  It looks like the new one will peter out at the end, but it was still a lot of fun.  I just need to put the capper on it.  

Books – Several of my favourite authors released new books this year.  Neil Gaiman, Robert Jordan/Brandon Sanderson, Scott Lynch, Guy Gavriel Kay, Cory Doctorow, Daniel Abraham (especially as James S.A. Corey with a cowriter) – all had great releases.  The end of The Wheel of Time was particularly exciting for me since I’ve been following the book since it started in the 90s.  I also found new authors.  Connie Willis is likely the most exciting.  

TV continues to be very exciting too.  The first season of Broadchurch is my highlight for tv for the year.  But new seasons of Luther and Game of Thrones and Downton Abbey and Justified all made it a fun year to watch tv.  Old standards like Doctor Who continue to be fun.  And, of course, there was the incredible end to Breaking Bad.  

Comics was the year of Marvel Now and of Image.  I was sucked into some big crossovers that I quite enjoyed this year, but the best books are more idiosyncratic ones from creators: Young Avengers, Hawkeye, Private Eye, Lazarus, Velvet, Saga, Avengers Arena, Locke and Key.  There was some really good stuff there.  

And finally movies.  I saw one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen in my life this year.  It was horrendous.  But there were good shows too. So many really.  Go look at top 10 lists on the web.  There are dozens of them.  

OK.  Thanks to all.  To all of everybody who made this year pretty cool.  Enjoy the last hours of the year and i’ll catch up to you in the new one.  

 

Leave a Reply

