Upcoming Summer Movies

Hollywood plays it pretty safe during summer blockbuster season. Sequels and adaptations are the order of the day.

To date I’ve liked some of each. The Great Gatsby was flawed, but delivered the glitz expected. Star Trek Into Darkness was pretty awesome. I walked out with nothing, but praise. Since then I’ve read three negative reviews I mostly agree with. Here (funny), here (theme issues), and here (portrayal of women).

But the movies I am most eager for are wholly original.

Now You See Me – Great cast. A heist movie. About magic. A trifecta of awesome.

Pacific Rim – Man driven giant robots fighting monsters. Rocket powered punches! Directed by the director of Pan’s Labyrinth and Hellboy. I’m very excited. Although my friends seemed skeptical.

Elysium – By the writer/director of District 9. The trailer leaves me a bit cold. But District 9 was very cool.

World’s End – ok. This is almost a sequel. Reuniting the key actors and director of Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. But those were funny!

That is four neat pictures beyond the easy picks. IMO.

Leave a Reply

