Best Comics – again!

Little did I know when I wrote on Sunday, but today was the release date for the Eisner award nominations. These are like the Oscars for comics, but way cooler because they are for comics.

See the noms here.

Unfortunately there is little on the list that piques my interest which I don’t already get or have already tried. Just goes to show that I either read cool comics, too many comics or that awards are hogwash.

Some to try though:
– the Monkeybrain Colleen Coover comics
– Adventure Time
– some Becky Cloonan self-published stuff (already bought and read since I got home)

Also note the similarity to the best continuing comics list and the comics I mentioned on Sunday:

Best Continuing Series
Fatale, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
Hawkeye, by Matt Fraction and David Aja (Marvel)
The Manhattan Projects, by Jonathan Hickman and Nick Pitarra (Image)
Prophet, by Brandon Graham and Simon Roy (Image)
Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Two I mentioned (Saga and Hawkeye) two others I quite like (Manhattan Projects and Fatale), one I’ve tried and it isn’t my thing. The only reasons MP and Fatale didn’t make my list are that MP is a bit whacked and violent and I’ve liked other Brubaker/Phillips collaborations better. But both are cool.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

