Best Comics

A co-worker asked me the other day which are my favourite comics. In some ways this doesn’t happen enough. I love to talk about comics. In some ways it is an awkward question. My answer in never Superman or Spider-man or any other title most folks recognize.

“Huh?” Is the answer I get.

Anyway I won’t give a list today. I did one not long ago. You can check it out.

Here are some current titles I’m digging:

  • Locke and Key
  • Avengers Arena
  • Saga
  • Hawkeye
  • Snapshot
  • Fatale
  • Young Avengers
  • Wolverine and the X-Men

Plus I still like the Bendis oeuvre. It is mostly the same every week. Same strengths and same flaws. And his X-men stories are going nowhere. But I enjoy them all regardless: Uncanny X-Men, All new X-Men, Guardians of the Galaxy, Ultimate Spidey. His Icon stuff is flakier: Scarlet, Powers, Takio.

No DC on my list. I’m still enjoying the Vertigo books, but the core 52 isn’t grabbing me. Wonder Woman is a near miss for my list.

For today, that is all

Leave a Reply

