In lieu of

Here is what I wrote last night instead of a blog entry (some details occluded for privacy):

Hi,

My name is Todd and my number is xxxxx.

Before complaining I’d like to thank {my driver last night]and the dispatcher who organized my ride tonight. I appreciate their efforts.

I’ve had significant issues with my nightly pickups from work in the past 2.5 weeks. On four occasions the driver has gone to the wrong door at the mall. My drop off and pick up should be at the Office door. The drivers keep going to the main door.

On the previous three locations, I’ve been fortunate. I called to check on a late ride at 5:15 while the driver was at the wrong door and they have been able to simply pull ahead to my door and pick me up. (My door is about 50 yards east of the main door. Clearly labeled with the government logo and ministry name.).

Today I was ‘no showed’ for my first trip when the driver didn’t find me at the main entrance. I called option 1 and they sent another bus for 5:45 to 6:15. That one also went to the wrong door and no showed me. It took a third bus at 7:10 before I was finally picked up. 2 hours after the end of my original pickup window during which I sat in the entrance vestibule waiting.

I’m not sure what I can do to improve the service. I’m not sure what you can do either. But I’m asking that something be done. Maybe the note in my pickup entry can be clearer? Or I could be called before I am no-showed? (I realize that might be tricky.) Normally I don’t get an IVR call in the afternoon saying my ride is on the way. I’m not sure why – I always do in the morning and it is the same phone number. If I got an IVR I could perhaps go outside to look or send a coworker over to the main door (if there is someone still around).

I’m not sure any of those suggestions are practical. Tonight I was the last person in the office for about 45 minutes. After I was told the second time that my ride had left without me, I started to get pretty worried. I had my phone and a million office phones around so I could have called friends for help. (They’d have helped, but I hate to make the imposition.). But I was a bit scared nonetheless.

I’m normally really happy with the DATS service. I’m still very happy with it. The drivers and other staff are excellent. I’m just hoping something can be done to aid this situation.

Thanks,
Todd

4 thoughts on “In lieu of

  1. Dave says:

    “irate” with a “side of you suck”.. with a big dish of “hope I’m not a bother”

    too much of the latter… but that’s just my opinion…

    your method will likely be more effective.

Leave a Reply

