Looper – a review

That was different.

I often hear that leaving the theatre as a shorthand for “what the what was that?!”

I just saw Looper and I’m having a similar reaction.

The movie stars Joseph Gordon Levitt as a killer (looper) named Joe, Bruce Willis as Joe from the future and Emily Blunt as a mom caught between the two.

Loopers kill men sent back in time. Basically the bad guys of the future dispose of their trouble in the past.

When Joe fails to kill his older self the movie plot is set in motion.

The movie is action packed, but isn’t really an action movie. It has sci-fi niftiness, but tries not to be about the sci-fi.  The director does a lot to try and ground it with scenes set in diners and farmhouses that wouldn’t be out of place in the 1960s.

My biggest issue with the piece is that Joe is mostly a jerk.  Using the word jerk is putting it mildly. And yet the movie expects you to be rooting for him. The main reason to do so is that old Joe is a bigger jerk. Normally I’m cool with unsympathetic leads, but this one rubs me the wrong way.

That aside the picture is pretty cool. The scenes with the two Joes all work. And Gordon Levitt and Emily Blunt have good energy. You’ll walk out of the movie wondering about their choices and whether there were other ones to make. The action, when it does happen, is very nice. Quick and surprising. And you can watch the characters think during the action.

My main goal in seeing this movie was to catch another flick by director Rian Johnson. My brother told me that Johnson thinks of himself first as a director and second as a writer. I’d have guessed the other way around. Still both directing and acting in this movie are darn nifty.

I’m not sure what you think this movie is. But is you can set aside preconceptions, I think you’ll like the experience.

4 thoughts on “Looper – a review

  1. Suellen says:

    This movie has intrigued me enough to want to rent it on Netflix.

  2. Suellen says:

    Well I am liking the movie experience less and less. I also find that I don’t have to wait nearly as long for movies to come out on PPV, the Movie Channel or Netfilx. The notable exception to the ‘I don’t like going to the theatre’ is the VIP theatre by my place but the movies they run are limited. I can only hope they show the Hobbit when it comes out.

Leave a Reply

