Re-Wee Cap-kly

Hey the Olympics are on.  I watched sports on tv.  5 of our medals were won while I watched the appropriate games.

I’ve even found myself enraptured by sports I don’t normally enjoy like soccer and tennis.

My Mom and brother were out of town.  Partying in the Kootenays.  Sounds like they are cool and had fun.

I read the latest Joe Aberbrombie book, Heroes.  It has been in my read pile for awhile.  They are well written, suspenseful and exciting, but I don’t actually like them very much.  There is a bleakness in the writing.  And a clash about a message of the horrors of war and their presentation in graphic detail.  (Think of a Paul Verhoeven movie like Robocop or Starship Troopers).

Now I will read Eye of the World.  Starting tomorrow since I can’t thread a way to my bookcase right now.

Speaking of Paul Verhoeven movies, I saw the remake of Total Recall with Dave on Sunday.  The original was better, but I still enjoyed it.  The earlier movie’s vision of Mars was filled with interesting details from one side of the screen to the other.  This remake doesn’t have the same exuberance.

Books, movies, Olympics.  Ah gaming night…

We played Ora et Labora.  This session worked much better than the first time I played.  I was the only repeat player.  All three players were engaged and working through the whole game.  It was a lot of fun.  My explanation of the rules sucked though.  Small group – both the summer lull and the post gaming weekend lull and a long weekend lull.  I thought it was fortunate that there were three of us.

That is all.

Oh and we landed a robot on Mars.  Cool.

Go Canada!

Leave a Reply

