I miss homecooking

As a lazy bachelor, you might have noticed that I don’t cook much.  Read that as ‘cook at all’.

It amazes me how many delicious meals my Mom used to cook starting with a pound of ground beef as the start.  We were a meat and potatoes family and our meat was ground beef.  (And we ate 50% rice because Mom always preferred rice especially once she got a rice cooker and could get good rice in Grande Prairie.)

Spaghetti was my favorite.  How many more can I list:

  • Hamburgers
  • Chili
  • Tacos
  • Lasagna
  • Porcupine Balls
  • Ground Beef Stroganoff
  • Hot hamburger sandwiches
  • Meatloaf
  • Shepherd’s Pie
  • Tortierre
  • Sweet and Sour Meat balls

I’m sure I’m missing some more.  Mom’s marinated pork spare ribs and her pork tenderloin might have been my all time favorite meals, but like a roast chicken those were a good Sunday meal.  She certainly mixed up our diet through the week as well.  I don’t want to give the impression our diet was one note.  But the list above just looks awesome to me.

We were also lucky because Mom made everything from scratch.  The sauces and prep came from combining ingredients rather than from a jar or a can.  (Mostly.)

Garsh, I’m hungry now.

8 thoughts on “I miss homecooking

  1. Dave says:

    There is no steak or pork chops on that list.

    Forget? Or never had?

    • On the list of ground beef recipes? Or the shorter list of childhood favorites?

      I’m a bigger fan of steak now than I was as a kid. I probably would have preferred spaghetti… we had steak though. It was another Sunday food.

      But pork chops were a staple too. Nummy. Browned and the sautéed in cream of mushroom soup. 🙂 you’d love it Dave!

  2. Dave says:

    Meat, potatoes and mushrooms btw…

    Ick on the last.

Leave a Reply

