Oscar

Nominees listed in full here

Some years the Oscrs have movies that interest everyone.  Sometimes they don’t.  This is a year with type 2.  This is actually more interesting to me because I get to go out and see a number of movies that I otherwise might not.  But I wonder if the average Oscar viewer will be too interested in the nominee list.

Best Picture

There were nine(!) nominees this year.  I have only seen 4 of them.  Hugo, Midnight in Paris, Moneyball and Warhorse.  I am interested in seeing The Artist and The Descendants as well.  Someday I’ll probably watch The Help.  Of the ones I’ve seen my favorite is Midnight in Paris.

  • Hugo – this was very good, but although it is a PG 3D movie I would have hated it as a kid.  A nostalgic look back at the 1900s?  For adults though I think it is excellent.  (There is nothing that kids shouldn’t see in the movie – I just don’t think they’d be interested.)
  • Moneyball – There are also nominations for both Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill.  Jonah Hill with an Oscar!  Who could have seen that potential coming.  Aaeon Sorkin co-wrote – there is no surprise that I like this.
  • Warhorse – I wrote about this movie earlier this month.  This is a good movie worth seeing.
  • Midnight in Paris – this was just a nifty, awesome, groovy film.  I’ve written about it before too.  Go watch.

I don’t have too much to say about all the acting nominations.  I’ve found that there can be great acting in some pretty garbage movies.

Best direction and Best writing

In these categories I’ve also seen: The Ides of March and Margin Call.  I’d like to see Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.  That looks nifty.  The director category overlaps 100% with Best Picture.  My pics would be Midnight in Paris for direction, Moneyball for Adapted Screenplay and Midnight in Paris for Original Screenplay.

  • Ides of March – This is a good movie about very bad people.  I liked it.
  • Margin Call – I thought this was only  so-so movie.  The screenplay had some nice speeches, but they felt like speeches.  “Look at me!  I’m making a point here!”  I felt like I was being hit over the head with the “get the point?” hammer.  Because they were delivered by Kevin Spacey, Jeremy Irons, Paul Bettany and Stanley Tucci they worked OK.

The news says there were some snubs.  I’m fine with the nominees.  50/50 and Drive made my personal best films list of 2011, but I am not sure they needed nominations.

And that is what I have to opine about that.

Leave a Reply

