2011 A Year in my life in Review

Books, Comics, Movies, Music.  It is a top 10 list sort of time.

For me 2011 will be the year that Dad died.  There has been other things this year – good and not bad.  But this is likely the worst thing to happen to me in my life.  Which shows that I have been pretty blessed actually.

Moving on. (I come back – the previous paragraph is tiny while less important stuff below is much longer.  That isn’t the way it really is.)

I started a new job on 2011.  Like usual it occupies most of my time.  Within the first week, the second day even, I was doing useful work.  When the project is successful, our project will be providing a very useful and critical service to the police in Alberta.  Often in IT, it is hard to see how you will benefit people directly, but this project gives a direct tie.  To officer safety, to public safety, to better intelligence analysis.  And the technology is cool and challenging.  Unfortunately it is pretty much all protected information.  Or I’d be boring the world about it every week on this thing.

Personally I did little to improve myself this year.  The one thing I did was begin to attend mass regularly again.  It has been years since I did that.  It seems a small thing, but it is the deed I am most proud of this year.  Otherwise, there isn’t much.  My diet, if anything, is worse.  I took no courses.  I was getting more exercise working for Telus.  And my list of undone tasks is pretty much the same as it was at this time last year.  (I list these mostly to annoy my mother.)

There is lots of room up there for resolutions, but I don’t do resolutions.

Books

It is a year where most of my favorite authors released new books.  So it was a good year for reading.  But it was also a little disappointing.  There was no one new author that I found this year.

  1. Leviathan Wakes – the only something truly new on the list
  2. A Canticle for Leibowitz – the only something old on the list
  3. A Dance With Dragons – book 5
  4. Embassytown – Mieville’s latest
  5. A Wise Man’s Fear – Not as good as book 1, but still pretty good
  6. Reamde – Disappointing, but still a good read

Comics

The comic market saw a big downturn this year.  It made Marvel stop making ancilliary titles and series.  Almost everything ties back to either the major Avengers or X-Men franchises now.  It made DC redo their whole line.  Their strategy is the opposite of Marvel’s.  Only a couple of titles look to tie into one another.  Even within a family like Batman or Superman the titles are mostly stand alone.

This year my find was Scott Snyder.  American Vampire, Detective Comics, Batman and Severed.  Nike Spencer continued to impress.  I just did a post on art a few weeks ago.  That still stands.  And Jason Aaron on Schism and now Wolverine and he X-men.

  1. Detective/Batman
  2. Morning Glories
  3. Wolverine and the X-men
  4. Batwoman
  5. Swamp Thing
  6. Daredevil
  7. Wonder Woman
  8. Red Wing
  9. Hellboy
  10. Echo and Rachel Rising

With nods to: Shade, The Unwritten, Fables, American Vampire, Severed, Ultimate Spidey and Non-Player.

Music

Almost none.  Foster the People is the only new band I’ve dug this year.

Weird.  Is there no new music out this year?

Movies

This was big for me.  I started to go back out to the theatres again for the first time in years.  Very exciting.  I saw mostly blockbusters on the big screen and smaller pictures at home.  The worst movie of the year was probably Dylan Dog.  Avoid at all costs.

  1. Drive
  2. Moneyball
  3. Super 8
  4. 50/50 – Joseph Gordon Levitt is my favorite actor.  He rocks.
  5. Source Code
  6. Captain America: The First Avenger
  7. X-Men First Class
  8. Tower Heist
  9. Dale and Tucker vs. evil

Games

No new video games this year.  i bought nothing for my Wii.  I played lots of iphone games, but nothing worth talking about.  Roleplaying has been all Dresden for the year.  Board games are pretty exciting as usual.  Mansions of Madness is probably the big hit there.  But the Republic of Rome game on Monday was pretty epic.

I think that is everything.  Obvious badness aside, this was a pretty decent year.  As usual I look forward to the next.  In 2012 my project goes live.  That will be very exciting.  But I won’t be able to talk about that here.

 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

