Dad 1940 – 2011

My father passed away at about 8:30 pm last night.

I want to do a good post about how awesome my Dad was – gee I have a lot of problems with that verb tense.  I don’t have that yet.  I think if I can actually write a good post I want to write a good post.

One thing I’ve heard a lot in the last few days is that Dad has always been a fighter and has always been brave.  Both of those are true – undeniably so, but it makes it sound like Dad’s life was always a struggle.  Dad didn’t struggle and battle his way through life.  He overcame obstacles certainly.  But his life was a full life.  Dad was the person from whom I got my sense of humour, my sense of responsibility and my a good portion of my ability to enjoy life.  Dad found enjoyment in so many things.  From small things like a cold beer on a hot day to important things like the laughter of a child.     Dad wasn’t awesome just because he fought through life, but because he enjoyed his life and the people in it.

I’ll write something more later.

3 thoughts on “Dad 1940 – 2011

  1. Suellen says:

    Todd, I am very sorry to hear about your loss. The world is a much better place for having your father in it.

    God Bless.

  2. Jerry Vague says:

    My Thoughts are with you and your family.

  3. Peter says:

    My thoughts are with you and your family.

Leave a comment