Film Noir – List

So I feel rushed for time today.  I had wanted to do a proper Film Noir post, but today I’ll just do a quick list of my favorite Noir movies.

  1. Out of the Past
  2. Double Indemnity
  3. Sweet Smell of Success
  4. The Maltese Falcon
  5. Rebecca

Runners Up: Strangers on a Train, The Big Sleep, D.O.A, Touch of Evil, The Postman Always Rings Twice

I’ve seen most of the ones labeled as the classic noir now.  Big holes would be The Third Man, The Killers, and Night of the Hunter.

I’ll get into the reasons why I like these at a later date.

2 thoughts on “Film Noir – List

  1. David Silvestri says:

    I have seen NONE of those movies…

    I feel shame…

  2. No need for that! These are certainly Film Noir classics, but they aren’t necessarily overall film classics.

    I think that Film Noir is excellent, but it is certainly a matter of taste. And there are lots of reasons why most people may not like Noir which I’ll get into later.

    And lots of these movies are still hard to find. Except I own them all except the Hitchcock ones – but those are easy to get. The only reason I haven’t seen the Third Man is that I have never seen the Third Man. Anywhere.

Leave a Reply

