Quite Ignorable Question 1

9 thoughts on “Quite Ignorable Question 1

  1. David Silvestri says:

    Prior to my oldest child hitting Grade 1 I would have picked Dr. Seuss hands down.

    Now, I can’t bring myself to do that as he’s discovered, “If I ran the Circus” and “On beyond Zebra”.

    Neither of these books have the same rhythm or humor that my beloved Dr. Seuss books (“The Cat in the Hat”, “How the Grinch Stole Christmas”, “The Lorax” etc). Those two are endless pointless rants of made up words.

    And my kid loves them.

    They are hard to read, and I’ve grown tired of trying to explain that almost every second word isn’t a real word.

    So, if I could be selective, I’d likely still choose Dr. Seuss, but I’ve endured too much “pain” over the last 2 years because of those two books alone 🙂

  2. Maybe he outsourced the writing on those…

  3. Mythi says:

    A poll that includes my favourite author! Thanks, Todd!

    I loved reading Roald Dahl’s surreal stories. Apparently, his children’s fiction is famous for using dark humor, but although I agree now that it’s full of it, I didn’t really notice it as a young reader. Was that the draw?

    • I’ve never actually read Roald Dahl. I’m not sure why I put him on the list. To be true to my own youth, I should have subbed him for whoever the writer was that wrote the Encyclopedia Brown stories.

      I voted for E.B. White myself, but really I should have voted for Milne. Winnie the Pooh is great! I voted White because Charlotte’s Web has a certain je ne sais quoi.

      Glad you liked this list.

      • Mythi says:

        Charlotte’s Web was a good read indeed.

        I guess I like silly, because if Roald Dahl wasn’t on the list, I’d have gone with Dr. Seuss.

        More kids today are familiar with Milne’s characters, thanks to Disney. I’ll actually read his stories after I have my own kitlings…or until I have storage space for the complete collection of his works on which I got my eye.

        How do you feel about Robert Munsch? He also writes delightfully silly stories.

        • I’m not a huge fan of Disney’s adaptation of Winnie the Pooh – although it is pretty faithful It just isn’t the same as what is in my mind at all. (At least the first ones were – the later ones are pretty far afield.)

          Never read Munsch. I think he got popular towards the late 70s when I was too old for it already.

          I learned to read on Aesop’s fables and Dr. Seuss I think. And Alligator Pie – that would certainly qualify as silly!

  4. Robin Turcotte says:

    Other then a little Seuss I don’t remember reading anything when I was younger. Now with the kids I must say that Robert Munsch is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

