Comics: into the top 25

Nearly there! More CBSG goodness!

25. Garth Ennis’ Punisher – Ennis. Read the first trade. Not my thing. There is a little Ennis box in my head labeled “Not my thing.”

24. John Byrne’s Fantastic Four – before my time mostly. I did catch the end of this and it was pretty good.

23. Grant Morrison’s Animal Man – Did not read.

22. Ed Brubaker’s Captain America – How did this get pitched? Let’s make Cap carry a gun and kill. Let’s bring Bucky back from the dead. Two ideas I would have said are anathema to good Cap stories. But these are the best Cap stories I’ve ever read. It also helped me get over CrossGen going down when the talent developed there came back and did comics like this.

21. Joss Whedon and John Cassaday’s Astonishing X-Men – yes. This is good. It isn’t top 25 good though.

20. Keith Giffen and J.M. DeMatteis’ Justice League – these were great comics. I do not own, but I do quite like.

19. Warren Ellis and John Cassaday’s Planetary – Another Todd top ten pick. This was a top of the pile read for years. Images and covers for this series were my desktop wallpapers. My favorite is still the ghost cop of Hong Kong issue. Awesome!

18. Geoff Johns’ Green Lantern – I think we established over a week ago that Johns’ JSA is his ideal run. But this just burst! It made GL into a franchise.

17. Brian Michael Bendis’ Ultimate Spider-Man – Here is my favorite Bendis Marvel work. An almost unparalleled art run by Bagley. And Bendis doing what he does best.

16. Brian Michael Bendis and Alex Maleev’s Daredevil – Following up Smith’s Daredevil run in Marvel Knights. It was highly successful and Bendis was still almost unknown. As a run entire it is better than Brubaker’s I think. (Although Bru’s first arc is awesome.). Oddly Bendis is just now doing his epilogue. This is good stuff.

15. Chris Claremont’s Solo X-Men – My favorite issues are with Paul Smith and are in this run. This run may be why I’m reading comics today. It won’t make my personal top ten, but it is still good.

14. Marv Wolfman and George Perez’s New Teen Titans – Aye, two thumbs up. There are few stinkers up here on the list. Personally I’m more taken by the art than the story, but both work. Why isn’t there a franchise of Titans movies? They have some awesome rogues.

13. Grant Morrison’s New X-Men – once again I didn’t get this at first. But finally I did. My favorite Morrison works: We3 and All Star Superman wont show on this list so this will likely be the top stuff of his appearing for me. .

12. Grant Morrison’s JLA – More Morrison. I think this is solid, but not close to the top.

11 runs to go. Getting easy to guess what is coming up.

Leave a Reply

