Comics, comics until they are done, comics

Brian Cronin of CSBG continues to update his list.

55. Steve Englehart and Marshall Rogers’ Detective Comics – yes. And more Batman. Have not read.

54. Carl Barks’ Duck comics – yes. Have only sampled.

53. Garth Ennis and John McCrea’s Hitman – Garth Ennis. I can’t discount his talent, but I just don’t like the stories he tells. Not my thing.

52. Jonathan Hickman’s FF – more not my thing. I dropped FF during this run and missed most of the big events.

51. Jack Kirby’s Fourth World – when people are using your stories nearly forty years later? Good sign it worked. But, I’ve only read what was inspired, not the original.

Jeepers. Will there be anything on this list I’ve actually collected.

50. Brian K. Vaughan and Tony Harris’ Ex Machina – Oh here we are. First I’d consider collecting Tony Harris illustrated menus. Where did the comic industry comment on 9/11 and politics at the start of the millennium? Here. Mostly Vaughn can just tell a story. This would be the third best of his runs… Hope to see the others show up.

49. Peter David’s 2nd Run on X-Factor – I just cleaned this out. I still don’t know what I was thinking. Gah. Maybe that the stories seem to have all become about X-Factor rather then other plots. And the art, until Kirk, has been skitchy. Still this is a good run. Very good.

48. Kurt Busiek and Brent Anderson’s Astro City – not as good as this though. This is a top ten run for me. The first issue is one of my favourite comics ever. The second storyline kicks butt. The best comics come when an entire creative team just clicks. Busiek, Anderson, and Ross do so on this.

47. Paul Levitz, Keith Giffen and Larry Mahlstedt’s Legion of Super-Heroes – have not read.

46. Dave Sim and Gerhard’s Cerebus – meh. Not my thing.

45. Grant Morrison’s Invisibles – I think Morrison is one of the best active comic writers. But we don’t actually agree on much. The more personal a comic is for him, the less I connect with it. As a whole, this might be his most personal series.

44. Roger Stern and John Romita Jr.’s Amazing Spider-Man – sure read this. But only if you like good comics.

43. Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso’s 100 Bullets – yep. I like this. The first trade didn’t grab me. But once the uber plot started to form, I couldn’t more away. Azzarello is worth reading just for dialogue. Risso – this was nicely done. And Dave Johnson’s covers might be the biggest draw of the package which is saying a lot.

42. Roger Stern’s Avengers – look Stern is in this list twice. More goodness here.

41. Jeff Smith’s Bone – and another top ten contender. How many of those have I had so far? It starts as funny animals and rat creatures and ends trying to out epic Tolkien. Plus it is way more available now than when it was coming out with multiple editions and formats available.

6 thoughts on “Comics, comics until they are done, comics

  1. Dave says:

    Lots here I like…

    I don’t have a lot of the Legion run, but what I do have, I like.

    Both Stern runs are among my fave “classic hero” style story telling.

    Bone – top 10 material for sure. The fact that anyone of any age can pick it up is awesome. Connor has read the complete Bone cover to cover at least 3 times.

    Astro City – When this was coming out semi regularly I was ecstatic… not because I was collecting the issues. I was collecting the trades. And semi regular issues, meant I could read yours, and eventually count on the trades. Somewhere along the way I converted to issues, and that was a mistake I think in the enjoyment of the series for me. Especially if I want to go back and re-read them. First issue was awesome. I still think the Confession trade is my favorite… though we’ve had that conversation before.

  2. Dave says:

    missed this post when it originally came out… my bad.

Leave a Reply

