And still more comics

As usual my ramblings are based on Comics should Be Good and their round up of great comic runs.

70. Geoff Johns’ – yes this is good. Maybe the best of Johns’ career? Or maybe that is his GL.

69. Denny O’Neil and Neal Adams’ Batman – Have not read.

68. Warren Ellis, Bryan Hitch and Paul Neary’s Authority – I’m the only one who prefers the Ellis/Raney volume 1 Stormwatch over this. It is all flash and no substance. It is very pretty though.

67. Alan Moore and J.H. Williams III’s Promethea – Top 10 was much better. It was surprisingly readable for a long lecture. And the art was gorgeous.

66. David Michelinie and Bob Layton’s Iron Man – Here is a classic run. I’ve read Dave’s issues. Good stuff. The ground work for all modern versions on Tony Stark, his supporting cast and rogues is here.

65. Warren Ellis and Stuart Immonen’s Nextwave – hmm. Surprised to see this. It is even less substance than The Authority. I like it, but don’t think it is great.

64. Denny O’Neil and Neal Adams’ Green Lantern (co-starring Green Arrow) – Have not read.

63. Will Eisner’s The Spirit – Have not read.

62. John Byrne’s Superman – see my comments on #66, but replace IM with Supes.

61. Ed Brubaker, Matt Fraction and David Aja’s Immortal Iron Fist – I love this run. Very great. But probably doesn’t quite crack my top 10.

60. Robert Kirkman, Cory Walker and Ryan Ottley’s Invincible – Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. All the trades but one are named after 80s sitcoms. How awesome is that? Of current comics it is a must read and a contender for top 10 status.

59. Brian Michael Bendis’ Avengers – meh. I’m a big Bendis fan. But I never ever thought he was a good fit here.

58. Alan Grant and Norm Breyfogle’s Batman – have not read

57. John Ostrander and Tom Mandrake’s The Spectre – have not read

56. John Ostrander’s Suicide Squad – have not read

I was glad to see a lot of the classic 80s and 90s DC stuff here. Even though I haven’t read a lot of it.

3 thoughts on “And still more comics

  1. Dave Silvestri says:

    Holy crap is there a lot of great stuff in there that you haven’t read. First, I’ll admit that I haven’t read all of Neal Adams runs on GL and Batman, but I’ve read a decent amount of it… it’s awesome. This is where Green Arrow becomes a bit of an activist.

    I have a bunch of these in comic boxes I could never hope to get to again :'(

    I never realized the Invincible trades were named after 80’s sitcoms… I feel shame.

    woohoo 62, woohoo 66.

    You left out “JSA” for number 70… love all his JSA stuff. Man, I wish I could get all those issues together and reread them.

    And man, Ostrander and Mandrake had some awesome Spectre stories… a lot of which are a bit too weird for me. But the establishment of the Spectre as the Angel of Vengeance came from those stories. And Mandrake’s art was made for that series. Again, a bunch of books I can’t hope to get at.

    Wasn’t a huge fan of Grant/Breyfogle Batman… enjoyed it… forgot it…

    Sad how little Ostrander Suicide Squad I’ve read.

    I LOVE IRON FIST… that is all

    • :) I can’t read everything. Well I could read this whole list but that seems obsessive.

      Nuts. I can’t believe I missed JSA. As a body of work I think it is Johns’ best stuff. He has had showier artists and some great ideas on GL, but these were just good stories.

Leave a Reply

